The Douro is the oldest Demarcated and regulated Region in the world, known for the remarkable quality of its wines and for the famous Port Wine, the fortified wine that was at the origin of the demarcation, ordered in 1756 by the Marquês de Pombal.

The Douro is located in the Northeast of Portugal, surrounded by the Marão and Montemuro mountains. Most plantations are planted on terraces, carved into the slopes of the valleys along the river.

The vineyards of the Douro create a magnificent landscape recognized by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site since 2001.

The wonderful scenery is combined with the excellence of the wines produced in the three sub-regions of the Douro: Baixo Corgo in the west, Cima Corgo in the center and Douro Superior to the east.


the climate is quite dry and the mountainous ranges offer the vines protection from the winds.


Touriga Nacional, Touriga Franca, Tinto Cão, Tinta Roriz and Souzão, Gouveio, Rabigato, Viosinho and Malvasia Fina.

sub regions

1: Baixo Corgo
2: Alto Corgo
3: Douro Superior


Courtesy of Wines of portugal…